Conversations gone bad

Posted: April 16, 2014 in Life
Tags:

 Some days I give my self permission for pointless chit chat, ok let me rephrase most days anywhere anytime. Its kinda fun, getting completely immersed into peoples worlds, thoughts, reflecting on your own, connecting the dots, it’s a source of laughter lightens my spirit.

“Come on look at me seriously, do I look like I do drugs? But then you never know till you ask “

Saturday night out , new city exploration mission underway. Halfway in the night, my attention is drawn to a decently looking gentleman sited close by. He comes by and says hi, as we hit the chit chat button, we realize we work in the same company. Curtains start falling down and familiarity checks in..Not for long. He offers me drugs . No thank you I don’t do drugs. He is utterly shocked. Apparently all black people smoke drugs.. First am awestricken but respond calmly. I have heard this stereotype before mostly with the African guys, my encounter was pending. Seems you can never be ready enough. It takes half a minute for him to quickly ask “ seems like this conversation is not proceeding “ I whisper a prayer to the heavens for saving me from an explosive end. I graciously nod yes and go on dancing my night away, it’s still young after all. Lost in my moves I can’t help think we need a mental revolution, big scale.

“I will follow you to the end of the world, strictly private jets”

Few months earlier am walking to the train station. From behind me a voice says , “Are you going to Churchgate or Mira road.” I turn and ask “Why?” And the guy replies “ because am also going there” Back in my head am thinking are you superman to go to two places at the same time? Instead I ask “ Are you flying there? ” He nods and says “no by train only “ And I smile back sarcastically respond “ Then get lost “ Clearly it was one of those days.

PS: Mira road is where Africans live and Churchgate is for the elite , hippies etc, on a different day I would feel discriminated. That day has become elusive.

“There is no country on earth called Naigas, mere ignorance or the education system“

Some days at lunch hour I go out and sit by the sea on Marine Drive. Completely forget my troubles and just let the sea breeze blow my hair away.

On this particular day, I happened to be welcoming to chit chat. As the universe felt my need it responded accordingly. Unexpectedly conversation reached rock bottom when he asked my country of origin Person X: You are from Naigas right?

Me: Sorry Nai what?

Person X: Naigas

Me: Sorry there exists no such country in the world.

Person X : Looks away to the sea , shaking his head with a disturbed face.Perhaps wondering where on earth this stranger comes from.

Me: Quickly exists from scene.

“Kenya is in AUSTRALIA right?” pwahahahahahahahahaha , I wish

“ I remember this one time in the train heading back home. Normally many people will strike conversations with you about anything so I take advantage to learn something new. Always. Met this young college student, she studies social psychology and was busy preparing herself for the exams. As I have background in the same area, we immediately connect and we quickly accelerate to where are you from bla bla bla fish cake talks. Motivated by her enthusiasm , I give her a 20 mins lecture on Kenya. Am finally at Bandra and bid farewell.

Me : I get off here , nice to meet you and all the best in your exams

She: Nice to meet you too, you said your from.. (Before she can finish I respond )

Me : Kenya

She:Kenya is in Australia right ?

Me : Faintly… Africa ( I jump out of the train and walk hastily home)

 

Thankfully I  have lived through better days 🙂

A single conversation across the table with a wise man is better than ten years mere study of books.

 

 

Leave a Reply

